The Law Office of Bruce C. Bridgman Articles Who Cannot Lawfully Possess a Firearm in California

Who Cannot Lawfully Possess a Firearm in California

By Law Offices of Bruce C. Bridgman  Sep. 14, 2011 1:45p

There are specific laws in the state of California regarding firearms and it sometimes happens that people violate these unknowingly because they are unfamiliar with the laws themselves. If a person gets arrested for violating one of the laws, ignorance is not a valid defense. A defendant may face criminal charges and harsh penalties regardless of whether he or she knew that the act was a crime.

The following is a list of those who do not qualify to own a firearm in California.

  • A minor may not possess a handgun except under the supervision of a parent or guardian or with written permission.
  • A minor who is under the age of 16 may not possess a handgun but can do so only if accompanied by their parent or guardian while actively participating in a legal recreational activity that involves firearms, or if they have written permission to do so.
  • Anyone who has been convicted of a felony offense, is a drug addict, has ever been committed for mental observation, is a present or former mental patient or has been acquitted by reason of insanity may not own or possess any firearm.
  • Those with certain misdemeanor convictions that involved the use of force or violence may not possess or own a firearm within ten years of the conviction.
  • Anyone who has been adjudicated as a juvenile delinquent or offender for any type of offense (felony or misdemeanor) that involved force or violence if committed as an adult cannot own or possess a firearm until they reach 30 years of age.

Have you been accused of a weapon-related offense in Orange County?

If you have been charged with a weapon offense, you should consult with an Orange County criminal defense attorney who is experienced in handling weapon crime offenses. If convicted of a weapon offense, you could have to serve jail time, pay monetary fines, be placed on probation, perform community service and suffer other penalties as well.

Weapon-related crimes are not limited to firearms; many objects can qualify as a deadly weapon if used in a threatening or physically harmful manner. This can include objects like knives, crowbars, heavy objects, rocks, high-powered electrical equipment and even body parts such as feet, fists, elbows and so forth.

Get Competent Legal Help

At the Law Office of Bruce C. Bridgman, we have over 30 years of experience in criminal law and can help increase your chances of successfully combating the charges that are being brought against you. We have helped many clients successfully overcome their charges; give us the opportunity to do the same for you.

For a free consultation and aggressive representation regarding your weapon charges, contact an Orange County criminal defense attorney in our office today.

Other Recent Articles

3 Arrested after Yorba Linda Residents Call In Suspicious Activity

Orange County Sheriff’s Deputies have been on the lookout for suspects who may be part of a group that has been responsible for over 100 burglaries since October 2012.
More Articles »

Man Charged with DUI Manslaughter after Crash Kills his Brother

37-year-old F.B. has been charged with two felonies after a fatal accident occurred in the early morning hours last Monday.
More Articles »

OC Medical Practitioner Arrested for the 2004 Murder of his Wife

The now 60-year-old respiratory therapist, M.G., had been charged in 2004 for a domestic violence incident involving his wife.
More Articles »
(714) 963-5486
17500 Red Hill Avenue Suite 230
Irvine, CA 92614

(714) 964-1328

Office Hours:
Mon-Fri 9am-5pm

Main Website:
View Website
Contact our office by email or phone instantly by clicking the options below: